TIFF Tribute Awards

The TIFF Tribute Awards mark an annual fundraiser to support TIFF’s year-round programming and the organization’s core mission to transform the way people see the world through film. The Awards honour the film industry’s outstanding contributors and their achievements, recognizing leading industry members, acting talent, directorial expertise, new talent, and a below-the-line artist and creator.

The TIFF Tribute Awards will be presented on Tuesday, September 15, during the 45th edition of the Toronto International Film Festival. Following the successful TIFF Tribute Gala in 2019, the Awards will be offered in a virtual form in 2020.

Kate Winslet is the first recipient of this year’s TIFF Tribute Actor Award. More honourees will be announced in the coming weeks.

The 2019 TIFF Tribute Award recipients were:

Meryl Streep — TIFF Tribute Actor Award sponsored by RBC
Joaquin Phoenix — TIFF Tribute Actor Award
Taika Waititi — TIFF Ebert Director Award
Roger Deakins — TIFF Variety Artisan Award
Mati Diop — TIFF Mary Pickford Award supported by MGM
Participant Media — TIFF Impact Award (accepted by Jeff Skoll and David Linde)
David Foster — TIFF Special Tribute Award

Get film inspiration to your inbox

You can unsubscribe at any time. See our privacy policy .