Industry - Writers’ Studio

IndustryTalent Development › Writers' Studio

Writers’ Studio

Applications are now closed. Selected participants will be notified in March 2024.

Since 2012, TIFF Writers’ Studio has provided Canadian participants with a fulsome, curated experience through a unique integration of public and private programming. As of 2020, TIFF has invited international screenwriters and writer-directors to apply. The programme offers a space for screenwriters to consolidate skills, exchange ideas, and discuss challenges, all within a collaborative five-day intensive lab. Participants are supported to take their careers and projects to the next level as they participate in workshops, panel discussions, peer-to-peer mentorship, and one-on-one project development consultations guided by both Canadian and international experts.

The Renee Perlmutter Memorial Fellowship for Literary Adaptation: One applicant focusing on adapting literary work for the screen will be selected to participate in the programme. The recipient of the Renee Perlmutter Memorial Fellowship will receive an additional $3,000 grant toward developing their project.

The Sloan Science & Technology Writer Fellowship: The recipient of the Sloan Science and Technology Writer Fellowship will participate in Writers’ Studio.

CHANEL Women Writers’ Network

As part of Share Her Journey, the CHANEL Women Writers’ Network supports a year-round program to advance the careers of women and non-binary alumni of TIFF Writers’ Studio. CHANEL’s participation extends and enriches TIFF’s support for writers and writer-directors by providing funding to 2023 participants to facilitate the acceleration and development of their projects, and by offering opportunities to connect with a diverse network of mentors and peers year-round.

The CHANEL Women Writers' Network Members include: Abbesi Akhamie, Teyama Alkamli, Maha Al-Saati, Berkley Brady, Maggie Briggs, Luis De Filippis, Adrianna DiLonardo, Idil Ibrahim, Lisa Jackson, Melanie Jones, Karabo Lediga, Lindsay MacKay, Yasmine Mathurin, Katie McMillan, Fawzia Mirza, Jasmin Mozaffari, Lina Roessler, Silvina Schnicer, Mayumi Yoshida, Farida Zahran, and Sanja Zivkovic.

CHANEL Women Writers’ Network Class of 2023 (L-R: Idil Ibrahim, Teyama Alkamli, Luis De Filippis, Berkley Brady, and Farida Zahran)

CHANEL Women Writers’ Network Class of 2023 (L-R: Idil Ibrahim, Teyama Alkamli, Luis De Filippis, Berkley Brady, and Farida Zahran)

What’s Included

  • A five-day intensive lab — focused on screenwriting, the creative process — to take place April 15–19, 2024
  • Mentorship from TIFF programming teams and expert guests
  • Dedicated one-on-one discussions with script consultants
  • Peer-to-peer mentorship with the selected participants
  • Access to the 2024 Toronto International Film Festival
  • Access to TIFF’s Industry Conference, Business Centre, and Delegate Resources
  • A complimentary one-year TIFF Membership, which includes discounts on film tickets at TIFF Lightbox
  • Access to films and special events presented by TIFF during Writers’ Studio
  • Access to TIFF’s renowned Film Reference Library and archival collection


TIFF Writers’ Studio is designed for mid-level screenwriters and writer-directors who wish to extend their creative skills.

  1. Applications are open to international applicants as well as Canadians.
  2. Applicants must be credited as a writer on a minimum of either one (1) feature film or one (1) television series.
  3. TIFF Writers’ Studio is geared towards feature-length scripts. Writers working in broadcast, interactive, web series, and transmedia with an interest in feature-length production are welcome to apply (should they meet the criteria outlined in #2).
  4. Applicants must be in development (minimum first draft complete) on a feature-length project. Successful applicants should be ready to submit a copy of their script to TIFF by March 11, 2024, so that it may be read by mentors and peers and workshopped during the programme.
  5. Applicants must commit to attending the full programme and completing the required readings, viewings, and assignments in order to be considered.

Key Dates

Applications open
November 2023
Applications close
December 18, 2023
Project draft due
March 11, 2024
Participants notified of selection
March 18, 2024
Participants announced
April 11, 2024
TIFF Writers’ Studio
April 15–19, 2024

Submission Guidelines

  1. Candidates must fill out the application in full, attaching itemized supporting documents as per the guidelines below, to be considered.
  2. Applications must be completed by applicants themselves and not by third parties (e.g. assistants, co-workers).
  3. Successful candidates are required to include the words “Developed with support from TIFF Writers’ Studio” on subsequent drafts of the screenplay they workshop at the Writers’ Studio.
  4. Successful candidates will be required to acknowledge TIFF Writers’ Studio on the credits of a completed feature film that has been workshopped at the lab.

Application Materials

Applicants are required to submit the following supporting documents:

  1. A copy of the applicant’s resume in PDF format (maximum one page)
  2. The applicant’s filmography (project title, year, role(s), festivals played, and a maximum of five awards or nominations received per project) in PDF format
  3. One high-resolution headshot in colour (format: .jpg; orientation: portrait; minimum resolution: 300 dpi)
  4. A short version of a professional biography (maximum 50 words)
  5. A video pitch of less than two minutes in duration. The applicant should comment on their project and writing approach, as well as why they want to participate in TIFF Writers’ Studio
  6. A one-minute clip from a previous project on which the applicant is credited as writer or co-writer
  7. The following written materials from the submitted project:
    • Logline (50 words)
    • Synopsis (250 words)
    • One-page outline
    • A writing sample (five pages)

Please note: TIFF’s Industry team takes applicants’ confidentiality seriously and will ensure that submitted materials (excluding headshots and bios) are not shared with any third parties without the owner’s explicit consent. The material will be downloaded by the TIFF Writers’ Studio team and the selection committee.

Contact us by email at